South Africa

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search


South Africa
Conventional short name:
Local: South Africa, Suid Afrika
English: South Africa
Flag of South Africa
 Official: English, Afrikaans
 Others: Arabic (Omani), Batavian, Brithenig, Cantonese, Gaeilg, German, Greek (Cypriot), Gujarati, Hindi, Kalangi, Kerno, Kgalagadi, Khoisan, Ndebele, Pede, Persian (Moghul, Zoroastrian Dari), Portuguese, Scots, Shangani, Sotho, Swati, Tsongi, Tswana, Vendi, Xhosa, Zulu
 Capital: Johannesburg
 Largest: Cape Town
 Other: Pretoria
HEAD OF STATE: Diana I of England
CHIEF OF GOVERNMENT: Prime Minister Marjan de Wet-Shirazi

The Union of South Africa is a country occupying the southern quarter of sub-Saharan Africa. Home to native Bushmen, several central and eastern African nations have expanded into the region; in more recent years, Chinese, Batavian and later British settlers colonised southern Africa. Three wars between the Batavian and British colonial powers (known collectively as the Boer Wars) led ultimately to the destruction of the Batavian colonial power structure and the formation of the modern Dominion of South Africa. The aftermath of the Boer Wars also led to the formation of the Dominion of Southwest Africa.


South Africa is a member of the British Commonwealth, having been an English colony from 1795. A series of wars with the Batavian settlers of the Cape Colony (est. 1652) in the xix century led to the formation of the Dominion of South Africa. During the 19th century, the United Colonies of Southern Africa consisted of the the colonies of Cape, Orange Free State, Natal, Transvaal, Bechuanaland, New Holland and East and West Rhodesia). East Rhodesia was administered by the Kemrese South Africa Company, while West Rhodesia was a Scottish colonial affair that failed economically and was assumed by England in 1877. East Rhodesia gained independence from Kemr in 1899 as Rheon Rhodesi. In 1947, the colony of KwaKholwa, consisting of most of Natal and parts of Cape, was separated on the basis of different religion (Islam) (? Still thinking about this one! -- It seems that the later date (1985) makes more sense.). In response to the Boer demands for greater rights during the 1980s, one of the Boer strongholds, the province of New Holland, was separated from South Africa and was made into a separate Dominion of Southwest Africa, effectively cutting the Boer nation into two parts.

South Africa was granted independence from England in 1983 and thereafter sought admission to the Commonwealth. Civil unrest during the early 1990s led to "police intervention" from nearby states, particularly Hunan via Chinese East Africa, a thinly veiled attempt to invade and occupy Rhodesia and South Africa. In short order, the "police intervention" became a full-scale military campaign launched from installations in Chinese East Africa. Hunan and CEA managed to conquer most of Rhodesia, the government of which was forced into exile in South Africa in 1995. This war of conquest ended with the farcical "Cairo Peace Accords", to which South Africa was forced to agree, imposing reforms to the way South Africa was to be ruled. Hunan, however, did not sign the accords and continued to occupy large parts of Rhodesia anyway.

The 2003 War between Hunan and Canton spelled the end of foreign intervention in the region, as South African, Federated and Batavian forces succeeded in their efforts to reclaim the lost territory and restore order. A new constitution was ratified in 2004, and the country's status was changed from Dominion to Union of South Africa. The new constitution allows for South Africans to install a South African monarch, install a monarch of the House of Orange or continue with the English monarch as head of state. It also allows certain regions (notably the Native enclaves Monomotapa and Lesotho) to assume greater internal autonomy. It also defines the relationship between South Africa and Zululand, which was granted internal autonomy in 1985 (and claimed full independence during the Chinese occupation). Under the new constitution, Zululand has full domestic independence though its defence is guarateed by South African armed forces.

In 2000, a group of Batavians agitated for their own nation of New Batavia, but the separatist movement lacked sufficient support to carry on serious attempts. Nevertheless, a sort of unofficial "minination" has evolved among some of the more ardent supporters. New Batavia issues unofficial passports, fantasy currency and even publishes a Batavian language newspaper.

As part of the Empire and Commonwealth, South Africans have long distinguished themselves in war and peace. Of particular note were the Orange Dragoons, a mostly Boer unit, and the Kings Own Fusileers, a mixed Irish and Kemrese unit who literally put South Africa on the map for their heroism in GWI, GWII and the Oriental War. The Orange Dragoons are still an active unit, and were instrumental in freeing South Africa and Rhodesia from Chinese occupation. The list of South Africans who have contributed to the arts, sciences, politics and culture of the wider world is legion indeed.


North: Kongo. Northeast: Rhodesia. West: Southwest Africa. Southwest: South Atlantic Ocean. Southeast: Indian Ocean.


1 pound = 20 shillings = 240 pence
1 pond = 20 schillings = 240 pennies
Commonwealth standard.


English is the official language of South Africa, though there has been a strong current of support, even among Anglos since the 1960s, to make Afrikaner Dutch a co-official language. Many native and world languages are spoken in South Africa, including Zulu, Farsi, and Brithenig.


Most South Africaners are Anglo-Catholic. Minority religions include Zoroastrianism, Hinduism, Protestantism and Roman Catholicism. Many Natives continue to practice traditional religions. The present prime minister is a Zoroastrian.

Commonwealth flag   Members of the Commonwealth of Nations   Commonwealth flag
English Members
  Calcutta | East Caribbean Province (including Montserrat, a part of Ireland) | England | English Australia | English Guyana | Gibraltar | Hong Kong | Kingdom of Mauritius | Mosquito Coast | Providence Islands | The Salomon Islands | The Seychelles | Socotra | Somer Islands | Southwest Africa | Swan Islands | Wallace Cay  
Scottish Members
  Bombay | East Caribbean Province | Kingsland | Scotland  
Cambrian Members
  Ascension Island | Cambrian Arctic Ocean Territory | Cambrian Guyana | Cambrian Indian Ocean Territory | Kemr | New Kemr di'll Ostr | Madras | Mutapa | Tortuga Islands | West Caribbean Province  
Other Full members
  Aotearoa | Cyprus | Fiji | Grand Fenwick | Indo-British Union | Madagascar | Malta | Margarita Islands | NAL-SLC | South Africa | Tahiti | Toga  
Associate Members
  Alyaska | Armorica | Bharatij Samrazj | Bengal | Ireland (including Guereintia, excluding Montserrat) | Oregon | Thiruvithankur | Xrivizaja