Mosquito Coast

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Kingdom of the Mosquito Coast
Conventional short name:
Local: Moskito
English: Mosquito
Flag of Mosquito Coast
Language: English, Moskito
Currency: Commonwealth Pound
Organizations: Commonwealth of Nations, League of Nations



Mosquito Coast is a constitutional monarchy, based on the English model. Since the English first came into possession of the territory, it has been held by a self-styled king. Upon independence, the people and government of the Mosquito Coast petitioned for and invited an English prince to marry the last native princess (and descendant of the original lords of the land) and ascend the throne of Mosquito Coast, becoming the first king of a modern Mosquito Coast.

Administrative Divisions

The kingdom is divided into three counties. In the west is County Cumberland; in the east is County Essex; in the south is County Kent. The capital is at Norwich in Cumberland; other chief cities include Port Pennab, Oxbridge (the Oxe River cuts through the middle of the country) and West Canterbury. Most settlements consist of small villages along the roads or else Royal Park Service reserve stations that provide basic services to the ecotourism and scholarly pursuits of the country's visitors.


The Kingdom of the Mosquito Coast, a former English colony, is on the Caribbean coast of Central America.

Various border skirmishes and minor wars between English and Castilian forces were normal between the xvij and early xix centuries. It was not until 1932 that an official treaty of peace was signed between England and the Central American Community, later ratified by the kingdom, that set the boundaries of the two countries. The kingdom's territory would extend from 13°N to the northern seacoast, and would not extend past 82°W except as specified by treaty. Some finagling was done on both sides so that an equitable border was achieved.


The kingdom consists mostly of forested mountains in the west and tropical forest or jungle along the coastal plain. Arable land is minimal and settlements are few and far between. All major towns are connected by paved roadways; other settlements are reachable only by air, boat or unmaintained tracks.


North: Caribbean Sea.
West: Comunidad de Centroamerica.
South: Caribbean Sea.
East: Caribbean Sea.


The kingdom is an ecotourism haven and is famed for its cooperative efforts with scholars and researchers worldwide. Mosquito Coast's economy is based largely on ecotourism and general tourism. The League of Nations World Biosphere Committe has named the Platt River Reserve as a world treasure and is one of the worlds best preserved tropical forests. It is well known for its undersea beauty, offshore boating, fishing and scuba locales.


English is the official and common language of the kingdom. The Native Moskito language is spoken in some places, mostly in the bush.


Anglo-Catholicism is the principle and established religion of the kingdom.

Commonwealth flag   Members of the Commonwealth of Nations   Commonwealth flag
English Members
  Calcutta | East Caribbean Province (including Montserrat, a part of Ireland) | England | English Australia | English Guyana | Gibraltar | Hong Kong | Kingdom of Mauritius | Mosquito Coast | Providence Islands | The Salomon Islands | The Seychelles | Socotra | Somer Islands | Southwest Africa | Swan Islands | Wallace Cay  
Scottish Members
  Bombay | East Caribbean Province | Kingsland | Scotland  
Cambrian Members
  Ascension Island | Cambrian Arctic Ocean Territory | Cambrian Guyana | Cambrian Indian Ocean Territory | Kemr | New Kemr di'll Ostr | Madras | Mutapa | Tortuga Islands | West Caribbean Province  
Other Full members
  Aotearoa | Cyprus | Fiji | Grand Fenwick | Indo-British Union | Madagascar | Malta | Margarita Islands | NAL-SLC | South Africa | Tahiti | Toga  
Associate Members
  Alyaska | Armorica | Bharatij Samrazj | Bengal | Ireland (including Guereintia, excluding Montserrat) | Oregon | Thiruvithankur | Xrivizaja