From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Conventional short name:
Local: Gibraltar
English: Gibraltar
Flag of Gibraltar
Language: English
Currency: Commonwealth 1 £=12s=240d
Organizations: Commonwealth of Nations

This 'island' of English influence has long been held by the English Kingdom as a gateway to the Mediterranean. It was wrested from Castile in 1704 during a long and protracted civil war in which England backed the opposition; once they had their British fists on it they decided they didn't want to let go again.

Long desired by Castile, who laid siege to it first in 1727 and again 1779-1783, Castile continues to agitate for its return. England and the FK do not seem likely to give it up. Gibraltarians have, since the Second Great War, desired full autonomy; but given the likelihood that Castile will simply invade, neither the locals nor the FK are willing to take the plunge. Local referenda extended to the populace on returning to Castile have always gone down in resounding defeat.

For now, it is likely that Gibraltar will remain an English Crown Colony but with considerable internal autonomy. It, along with Malta, hosts vital Royal Navy and Royal Air Force bases. The taxi tour to the top of the Rock is not to be missed. Watch out for the Barbary apes, though - they are friendly, but like to steal things from unsuspecting tourists and will eat any food you have in hand! Don't miss the catchments and the tour of the caverns either!


Commonwealth flag   Members of the Commonwealth of Nations   Commonwealth flag
English Members
  Calcutta | East Caribbean Province (including Montserrat, a part of Ireland) | England | English Australia | English Guyana | Gibraltar | Hong Kong | Kingdom of Mauritius | Mosquito Coast | Providence Islands | The Salomon Islands | The Seychelles | Socotra | Somer Islands | Southwest Africa | Swan Islands | Wallace Cay  
Scottish Members
  Bombay | East Caribbean Province | Kingsland | Scotland  
Cambrian Members
  Ascension Island | Cambrian Arctic Ocean Territory | Cambrian Guyana | Cambrian Indian Ocean Territory | Kemr | New Kemr di'll Ostr | Madras | Mutapa | Tortuga Islands | West Caribbean Province  
Other Full members
  Aotearoa | Cyprus | Fiji | Grand Fenwick | Indo-British Union | Madagascar | Malta | Margarita Islands | NAL-SLC | South Africa | Tahiti | Toga  
Associate Members
  Alyaska | Armorica | Bharatij Samrazj | Bengal | Ireland (including Guereintia, excluding Montserrat) | Oregon | Thiruvithankur | Xrivizaja