From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Province of Connecticut
Proposed Flag of Connecticut
Subdivision of: North American League
 Capital: Hartford
 Largest: Bridgeport
 Other: New Haven, New London
 Official: English
 Others: Dutch, Algonquin, Kemrese
Lord Governor:
Admission to NAL: 1803 (9th)

Work in progress.png

Work in progress
    Comments are welcomed on the talk page. This is not yet a proposal.    


The Caretaker of this page's subject formally welcomes your participation in fleshing out this
article. Please feel free to offer up your own details and thus enrich all of IB!

Connecticut (IPA: /kəˈnɛtɪkət/) is a province in the New England region of the NAL, located in the northeastern part of the country.

The name "Connecticut" comes from the Mohegan Indian word "Quinnehtukqut" meaning "Long River Place" or "Beside the Long Tidal River." The first European explorer in Connecticut was the Dutch explorer Adriaen Block. After he explored this region in 1614, Dutch fur traders sailed up the Connecticut River (Named Versche Rivier by the Dutch) and built a fort near present-day Hartford, which they called "House of Hope" (Dutch: Huys de Hoop). The first English settlers came in 1633. They were Puritans from Massachussets Bay, led by the Puritan reverend Thomas Hooker. They founded the Connecticut Colony. Colonies were also established at Old Saybrook and New Haven, which later became part of Connecticut. Historically important colonial settlements included: Windsor (1633), Wethersfield (1634), Saybrook (1635), Hartford (1636), New Haven (1638), and New London (1646). Because the Dutch were outnumbered by the English settlers, they left their fort in 1654. Its first constitution, the "Fundamental Orders," was adopted on January 14, 1639.

The flag of Connecticut shows white shield with three grapevines (each bearing three bunches of purple grapes) on a field of azure blue. The banner below the shield reads Qui Transtulit Sustinet, ("He who transplanted sustains us") the provincial motto. The Connecticut General Assembly approved the flag in 1897. The design comes from the seal of Saybrook Colony when it was established in 1639. That seal depicted 15 grapevines and a hand in the upper left corner with a scroll reading "Sustinet qui transtulit". When Connecticut Colony bought Saybrook in 1644, the seal transferred to them. On October 25, 1711, the Lord Governor and legislature changed the seal. They reduced the number of grapevines from 15 to three, probably to represent the three original colonies of New Haven, Saybrook, and Connecticut (Hartford) and rearranged the wording and position of the motto.

Benedict Arnold was a native of Connecticut.

Gardiners Island

Lion Gardiner was an English Protestant who helped found Connecticut colony, hired by its Company to build fortifications. In 1639, he purchased the island of Manchonake off Long Island, a purchase later confirmed in a grant by King Charles I of England and Scotland. The grant named Gardiner Lord of the Manor and Lord Proprietor over a small island in the bay between the two arms of Long Island. Gardiner lost no time in moving to his new colony, making the small group of Montaukett living there his tenants.

Lion's descendants continued to administer the island as a proprietary colony, their role challeneged but never revoked as its surroundings changed hands, passing from England to Holland to Kemr. Throughout history, the Gardiners have demonstrated that their loyalty to the family supercedes all questions of politics and nationality. They attempted to remain neutral during the difficulties over taxes and religion of the late 18th and early 19th centuries. When the formation of the NAL-SLC was clearly a fait accompli, Lord John Lion Gardiner declared that he would cooperate with the new League. Fearing annexation by Castreleon New (and the unthinkable allegience to the Cambrian crown that would follow), Gardiner sought protection from the Connecticut, which agreed to respect the island's autonomy.

Gardiners Island remains in family hands today. Politically it falls somewhere between the cracks. Queen Diana of England remains its Sovereign. It retains its protecorate status to Connecticut, which nominally is responsible for Gardiner Island's external affairs.

Arms— Argent a chevron between three buglehorns stringed gules.
Crest— An arm in armor hand grasping the broken shaft of a lance.

The Old Blue Sheet   Provinces of the North American League and Solemn League and Covenant   The Old Blue Sheet
Alba Nuadh / New Scotland | Aquanishuonigy | Bahamas | Carolina | Castreleon New / Nieuw Batavie | Cherokee Nation | Connecticut | East Florida / Florida Oriental | Illinoise | Jacobia | Jamaica | Kent | Kentucky | Les Plaines | Mascoutensi | Massachussets Bay | Miami | Mobile | Mueva Sefarad | New Hampshire | New Sweden | Nýja Ísland / New Iceland | Nunavik | Ontario | Ouisconsin | Oxbridge | Pennsylvaania | Rhode Island | Tenisi | Ter Mair / Maryland | Utawia | Virginia | West Florida / Florida Occidental
Unincorporated Territories | Beaver Island | Dry Tortugas