From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Flag of Bahamas
Motto: Pacificatis piratis, restitutia commercia
Subdivision of: North American League
 Capital: Port Rogeres
 Largest: ???
 Other: ????, ?????
 Official: English
Lady Governor: Elizabeth P. S. St. Ives
Admission to NAL: 1803 (15th)




Administrative Divisions



The Bahamas were first claimed for England by royal decree of King Charles I of England and Scotland. Only a trickle of settlers followed, and for a century the Bahamas were the lawless haunt of pirates and scalawags.

The capital, Port Rogeres, was named for Lord Governor DiBrock Rogeres, who having been both a dashing sea captain as well as a swashbuckling and cutthroat privateer, earned his nickname "Hang Em" by sailing around the world for the Kemrese crown as a pirate hunter extraordinaire. He later went bankrupt, lost his ancestral home in Bristow, and decided that the only way out of debt-induced povery was to wage another foray on the high seas. This time he went after that "sink and nest of infamous rascals" that the Lord Governor of the Somer Islands had called the Bahamas, and made up his losses by seizing enough Castilian and pirate vessels to make the expedition highly profitable. Later, James IV of England made Rogeres Lord Governor of the Bahamas and he then set forth to restore order, plant colonies and convert the pirates with religious pamphlets, all under the auspices of "The King's Clemency". He did manage to convert a few hundred pirates, and gathered a following of fugitives from Castilian and French colonies in the area. The Abbot Patriarch sent several monks to set up a monestary in the capital town and the rest of pacified Bahamas is a matter of history.

Delegates from the Bahamas signed the Solemn League and Covenant of North America in 1803, making the islands a founding member of the NAL-SLC.

The Caribbean Plan, offered by the Republic of Florida-Caribbea, was accepted by the General Moderator and Parliament of the NAL in July of 2003. The provinces of Bahamas and Jamaica which were lost to Florida-Caribbea during its expansionist period, are now returned to the NAL fold as condominium provinces [provincial governance is the internal domain of the Provinces; defense and foreign policies are handled in cooperation between the NAL and Florida-Caribbea]. On 4 July, 2003, the Right Honorable Marcus H. Garvey was sworn in as governor of Jamaica; and the Right Honorable Elizabeth P. S. St. Ives was installed as governor of Bahamas. They mark the beginning of the new condominium status formed between the NAL and Florida-Caribbea.

All of this was prior to the Florida War which did so much to upset the region. But as a matter of history, the Bahamas were returned to the NAL. Whether it will end up as a member as well of the proposed Caribbean League only time will tell.


The Bahamas is an archipelago of some 700 islands and cays covering over 100,000 mi² (260,000 km²) of the Atlantic Ocean between Florida and Hispaniola. The archipelago has a total land area of 5,382 square miles (13,939 km²)—about 20% larger than Jamaica—and a population of some 310,000 Bahamians.




The Old Blue Sheet   Provinces of the North American League and Solemn League and Covenant   The Old Blue Sheet
Alba Nuadh / New Scotland | Aquanishuonigy | Bahamas | Carolina | Castreleon New / Nieuw Batavie | Cherokee Nation | Connecticut | East Florida / Florida Oriental | Illinoise | Jacobia | Jamaica | Kent | Kentucky | Les Plaines | Mascoutensi | Massachussets Bay | Miami | Mobile | Mueva Sefarad | New Hampshire | New Sweden | Nýja Ísland / New Iceland | Nunavik | Ontario | Ouisconsin | Oxbridge | Pennsylvaania | Rhode Island | Tenisi | Ter Mair / Maryland | Utawia | Virginia | West Florida / Florida Occidental
Unincorporated Territories | Beaver Island | Dry Tortugas