South Hamgieñ

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Map of Corea showing South Hamgieñ
Capital Hamhyñ
Hereditary Governor I Uen
(Validity of succession disputed)
Establishment 1896

South Hamgieñ is a northern province of Corea, unique for having a hereditary governor. It was formed in 1896 when the former province of Hamgieñ was divided into North and South Hamgieñ.


South Hamgieñ is bordered by Beihanguo to the north, North Hamgieñ to the east, North Phieñan, South Phieñan and Huanñhai to the west, and Kañuen to the south.


South Hamgieñ, at the time part of Hamgieñ, was the home of Taijo, the first king of the Chosen Dynasty. In 1972, his descendant, I Ku, nephew of the last king, was elected governor on a nationalistic/restorationist platform. Three years later, the provincial charter was amended to make I Ku Hereditary Governor.

Corea's flag   Provinces of Corea   Corea's flag
Cheiju | Huañhai | Kañuen | Kieñgi | North Chella | North Chhuñchheñ | North Hamgieñ | North Kieñsañ | North Phieñan | South Chella | South Chhuñchheñ | South Hamgieñ | South Kieñsañ | South Phieñan