From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Map of Yamato highlighting Quiòto within Quiñqui
Capital Quiòto (京都市)
Area 2081.49 SI mi²
Establishment Meidji 4, Rocugaçu 9 (July 14, 1871)

Quiòto (京都府, Quiòto-fu) is a province in the Quiñqui region, and home to the city of Quiòto (京都市), capital of Japan and the region of Quiñqui, and provisional capital of Yamato. This article covers both the city and the province by the same name.


For most of its history, Quiòto has been the capital of Japan. The city itself can be traced back to the 6th century (at the time known as Heian (平安)). As far back as 544, the Aoi Maçuli was held in the city to pray for good harvest and good weather.

In 784, the capital was moved by the Emperor Cammu (Quammu) from the city of Nara to the city of Nagaoka (in the present Quiòto Province). Ten years later it was moved to Heian. A large part of the reason for the move was meddling by Buddhist monks in Nara. Though the actual political center of Japan moved several times, the Imperial capital, the home of the Emperor, remained in Quiòto until Meidji 2 (1869), when Emperor Meidji moved to Edo, which was renamed Tòquiò (東京), or "East Capital". For a brief period, Quiòto was known as Saiquiò (西京) or "Western Capital".

During the Civil War, the capital was returned to Quiòto, and Tòquiò reverted to the name Edo.


Quiòto is located almost in the center of Yamato. Quiòto is 31st province by size. To the North, Quiòto faces the Sea of Japan and Fucúi Province. To the South, it faces Òsaca Province and Nara Province. To the East, it faces Mie and Xiga Provinces. To the West, it faces Hiògo Province. Quiòto is separated in the middle by the Tamba Mountains. This makes the climate of Quiòto very different in the north and south.


A possibly complete list of cities in Quiòto Province (some of this is QAA)

  • Ayabe
  • Cameoca
  • Djòyo
  • Fucutxiyama
  • Maizuru
  • Miyazu
  • Muco
  • Nagaocaquiò
  • Quiòtanabe
  • Quiòto
  • Udji
  • Yawata


  • Amata
  • Casa
  • Cumano
  • Cuse
  • Çuzuqui
  • Funai
  • Naca
  • Otocuni
  • Quitacuwada
  • Sòracu
  • Taqueno


Quiòto contains many historic sites, especially, but not only, in the city of Quiòto. The city has over 1600 Buddhist temples and 400 Xintò shrines. Important landmarks include:

  • The Biòdòin in Udji, a massive temple complex
  • The Fuximi Inali Shrine
  • The Guiñcacu-dji (the Silver Pavillion)
  • The Heian-Djingu, a shrine to the Imperial Family
  • The Lòan-dji
  • The Quiyomizu-dera, a magnificent wooden temple supported by pillars off the slope of a mountain
  • The Quiñcacu-dji (the Golden Pavillion)


Tourism and government form the major basis of the economy. Manufacturing tends to be largely restricted to traditional goods, such as quimono, hand-produced by artisans. In recent years, some heavy industries, particularly the nascent Japanese computer industry, have come to call Quiòto home.


Quiòto has many colleges and universities, home to the Quiòto Imperial University.


Quiñqui International Aerodrome is located about 72 minutes from Quiòto by train. The subway and bus systems are fairly extensive, and many of the major cultural sites can be easily visited on foot.

Yamato's flag   Divisions of Yamato   Yamato's flag
Regions of Yamato
Tòhocu | Cantò | Txùbu | Quiñqui | Txùgocu | Xicocu | Quiùxù
Provinces of Yamato
Aitxi | Aomoli | Aquita | Cagawa | Cagoxima | Canagawa | Còtxi | Cumamoto | Çuxima | Edo | Ehime | Fucúi | Fucúoca | Fucuxima | Guifu | Gumma | Hiògo | Hiroxima | Ibaraqui | Ixicawa | Iwate | Mie | Miyagui | Miyazaqui | Nagano | Nagasaqui | Nara | Nìgata | Ocayama | Òita | Òsaca | Quiòto | Saga | Saitama | Tocuxima | Tottoli | Totxigui | Toyama | Txiba | Wacayama | Xiga | Ximane | Xizúoca | Yamagata | Yamagutxi | Yamanaxi