Aquita Province

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Map of Yamato highlighting Aquita withing Tòhocu region
Capital Aquita (秋田市)
Area 5239.98 SI mi²
Establishment Meidji 4, Rocugaçu 9 (July 14, 1871)

The province of Aquita is located in the Tòhocu Region, in the northern half of the old land of Dewa.


The famous Heian-era waca poet Ono no Comatxi was said to have been born in the area that corresponds to modern Aquita, though her true birthplace is unknown.

On Meidji 4, Rocugaçu 9 (July 14, 1871), the modern province of Aquita was formed out of Aquita-han. In Djùgaçu (November) of that year, several other short-lived provinces were merged into Aquita.

During the Civil War, the city of Aquita was the capital of the Pretender's government, until the capture of Tòquiò and subsequent transfer there.


Aquita is located in the north of Honxù island, facing the Sea of Japan to its west. Its eastern border is marked by the Ò Mountains, while the higher Dewa Mountains run through its center. Like most of Tòhocu, its winters are cold, especially further inland, away from the sea


Probably incomplete

  • Aquita
  • Funacawaminato
  • Hondjò
  • Noxiro
  • Òdate
  • Òmagali
  • Yocote
  • Yuzawa


Probably complete

  • Cawabe
  • Cazuno
  • Hiraca
  • Quitaaquita
  • Minamíaquita
  • Ogatxi
  • Sembocu
  • Yamamoto
  • Yuli


Like much of Tòhocu, the economy tends to be dominated by traditional industries, such as fishing and agriculture. Tourism is also an important component of the local economy. Several of its large cities, however, have attracted some industry.


Near Lake Tazawa, there are a number of hot springs resorts (onsen), these are popular with tourists from all over Japan. In addition there are a number of seasonal festivals (maçulii) which offer a glimpse of rural or traditional Japan.

Cacunodate is a particularly charming old town, full of preserved samurai houses. The Aoyagui house is the former residence of Odano Naotaque, the man who illustrated Japan's first modern guide to the human anatomy. The house is now a museum and gallery of medical illustrations and traditional crafts.

Yamato's flag   Divisions of Yamato   Yamato's flag
Regions of Yamato
Tòhocu | Cantò | Txùbu | Quiñqui | Txùgocu | Xicocu | Quiùxù
Provinces of Yamato
Aitxi | Aomoli | Aquita | Cagawa | Cagoxima | Canagawa | Còtxi | Cumamoto | Çuxima | Edo | Ehime | Fucúi | Fucúoca | Fucuxima | Guifu | Gumma | Hiògo | Hiroxima | Ibaraqui | Ixicawa | Iwate | Mie | Miyagui | Miyazaqui | Nagano | Nagasaqui | Nara | Nìgata | Ocayama | Òita | Òsaca | Quiòto | Saga | Saitama | Tocuxima | Tottoli | Totxigui | Toyama | Txiba | Wacayama | Xiga | Ximane | Xizúoca | Yamagata | Yamagutxi | Yamanaxi