Edo Province

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Map of Yamato highlighting Edo within Cantò
Capital Edo (江戸市)
Governor His Imperial Highness Nobuhico, Prince Higaxi-Cuni
Area 986.92 SI mi²
Establishment Meidji 4, Rocugaçu 19 (July 14, 1871)

Edo (江戸府, Edo-fu) is an historically rich province in the Cantò region. The capital of Japan was formerly located in the city of Edo within the province. It is a financial center for Japan and much of East Asia. Edo City was also once the capital of the government of Japan, but today is only the capital of the Cantò region.


With the elimination of the old feudal han and pre-feudal lands (also sometimes, confusingly, called provinces) and the establishment of the modern provinces, the Tòquiò Province (東京府 Tòquiò-fu) was established, initially corresponding to the old City of Edo. By Meidji 11 (1878), the province had grown to its modern borders. At the time, in addition to the City of Tòquiò (which was divided into 15 wards), the Province included 6 districts. The city continued to grow in importance as the modernization of Japan proceeded, and with it, rapid growth of urban populations.

In Go-Meidji 11 (1932), the city was enlargened, absorbing neighboring territory. It now consisted of the modern 35 wards.


During the Civil War, in Xòwa 12 (1944), the governments of Tòquiò-xi (Tòquiò City) and Tòquiò-fu (Tòquiò Province) were merged into a new entity, Tòquiò-to (東京都), Tòquiò Metropolis). The new merged government governed both the province's cities, towns, and villages and the wards of the former Tòquiò city. In Xòwa 14 (1946), the city was captured by the Pretender's forces, and the Emperor and the Imperial government were forced to flee to the historic capital of Quiòto. The metropolis remained under the Pretender's occupation until Xòwa 19 (1951), when the Imperial forces reached it. The city was surrounded, and the Pretender surrendered rather than force the Imperial forces to damage it further.

Reversion to Edo-fu

After the end of hostilities, and the beginning of the Saisei Era, the metropolis reverted to the old name of Edo (Edo-to). The structure remained, initially, the same. However, shortly afterwards, Edo-to reverted to Edo-fu, and the city of Edo was recreated


A partial listing of cities:

  • Edo
  • Ebara
  • Totama
  • Còcaçuliçu
  • Hatxiòdji
  • Musaxi (note: *here*'s Fuchū)
  • Txòfu

Districts in Edo Province are:

  • Mainland (Santama)
    • Quita-Tama
    • Minami-Tama
    • Nixi-Tama
  • Island Districts
    • Òxima
    • Miyaqudjima
    • Hatidjòdjima
    • Osagawara-xotò
Yamato's flag   Divisions of Yamato   Yamato's flag
Regions of Yamato
Tòhocu | Cantò | Txùbu | Quiñqui | Txùgocu | Xicocu | Quiùxù
Provinces of Yamato
Aitxi | Aomoli | Aquita | Cagawa | Cagoxima | Canagawa | Còtxi | Cumamoto | Çuxima | Edo | Ehime | Fucúi | Fucúoca | Fucuxima | Guifu | Gumma | Hiògo | Hiroxima | Ibaraqui | Ixicawa | Iwate | Mie | Miyagui | Miyazaqui | Nagano | Nagasaqui | Nara | Nìgata | Ocayama | Òita | Òsaca | Quiòto | Saga | Saitama | Tocuxima | Tottoli | Totxigui | Toyama | Txiba | Wacayama | Xiga | Ximane | Xizúoca | Yamagata | Yamagutxi | Yamanaxi