Kingdom of Mauritius

From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Flag of the Kingdom of Mauritius

The Kingdom of Mauritius, discovered by the Portuguese in 1505, was subsequently held by the Dutch, French, and English before independence within the Commonwealth was attained in 1968.

Mauritius relies on tourism and the export of sugar and other agricultural products for sustenance. The population is predominantly African mixt with several European stocks. The official language is English, though there are pockets of French speakers. A Creole is spoken by everyone.

Mauritius is a constitutional monarchy whose head of state is Diana I of England and Scotland, though there is a provision in the constitution allowing the people to choose a suitable Native monarch should they decide to do so. There is a small minority who propose to make this change, mostly the wealthier sector of the tourism industry who feel a Native monarch would be a good image for their hotels and resorts. The vast majority of Mauritians are not only content with Diana, but take her almost as a cult figure.


Commonwealth flag   Members of the Commonwealth of Nations   Commonwealth flag
English Members
  Calcutta | Cape Green | Cyprus | East Caribbean Province | England | English Australia | English Guyana | Gibraltar | Goodyear Island | Hong Kong | Kingdom of Mauritius | Mosquito Coast | Providence Islands | The Salomon Islands | The Seychelles | Socotra | Southwest Africa | Swan Islands | Wallace Cay  
Scottish Members
  Bombay | East Caribbean Province | Kingsland | Scotland  
Cambrian Members
  Ascension Island | Cambrian Arctic Ocean Territory | Cambrian Guyana | Cambrian Indian Ocean Territory | Kemr | New Kemr di'll Ostr | Madras | Mutapa | Saint Thomas and Prince | Tortuga Islands | West Caribbean Province  
Other Full members
  Aotearoa | Fiji | Grand Fenwick | Indo-British Union | Madagascar | Malta | Margarita Islands | NAL-SLC | South Africa | Somer Islands | Tahiti | Toga  
Associate Members
  Alyaska | Armorica | Bharatij Samrazj | Bengal | Ireland (including Guereintia and Montserrat) | Oregon | Thiruvithankur | Xrivizaja  
Personal tools