Treaty of Copenhagen

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

Work in progress.png

Work in progress
    Comments are welcomed on the talk page. This is not yet a proposal.    

The Treaty of Copenhagen was one of the peace treaties which brought to an official end the Second Great War. It was signed in 1950. Specifically, it dealt with the political structure of post-war Europe, negotiated between the Allied Powers, Russia, the Scandinavian Realm, Greece and the Holy Roman Empire.

Other treaties likewise dealt with other aspects of the peace, most famously the Treaty of Visby.


In essence the victors were trying to keep the Holy Roman Empire from ever becoming the focus of a Third Great War. Towards this end, the demand was that Wilhelm III abdicate as King of Prussia and that his heir be banned from consideration as the new Holy Roman Emperor. In fact, the treaty in many ways has functioned as a written constitution for the HRE ever since. Its major provisions included:

  • Electors would consist of the Heads of State (royal, noble or otherwise) of the constituent members of the Empire. A majority of a quorum would be required to elect an Emperor.
  • The Emperor may be a bearer of a noble title or the head of state of a republic within the Empire. This may include a non-ruling house or a title in pretense, and it may include the HoS of an autonomous region, e.g. in Thuringia.
  • If the Emperor is a republican HoS, a new election must be called when his term of office expires.
  • A new Emperor may not come from the same house or state as his predecessor, or his predecessor's predecessor. [Admittedly, this is similar to Henua law, but it makes sense since it would prevent one state, or a coalition of two states, from monopolizing the Imperial throne.]
  • Anyone holding a noble title or political office outside the Empire is disqualified. (This keeps the Scandinavian Archking/queen from being eligible.)


Apart from reparations levied upon the Greek government, the Treaty also specifically granted joint control of Constantinople/Istanbul to Greece and Turkey.


Despite considerable controversy, the Treaty recognized the SNOR policy/law of the Act of Return, as well as accepted the fait accomplit of Snorist regimes in the Ukraine, Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, Skuodia, Veneda, Slevania, Hungary, Oltenia, Muntenia, Moldova, Bulgaria, Crimea, Turkestan, Uyguristan and Serbia.