From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

Rydon is the most northerly of the Armorican Isles and a part of the Tearnas Ceasaer. It is 3 miles (5 km) long and 2 miles (3 km) wide making it the third largest island of the Isles. It is around 10 miles to the west of Cap de la Hague in the Cotentin Peninsula, Normandy, in France, 20 miles to the north-east of Saern and 60 miles from the south coast of Britain. It is the closest of the Isles to France as well as being the closest to England.

The island has a population of 2,400 people, and they are traditionally nicknamed "rabbits" after the number of rabbits seen on the island. The main town of Rydon is Cavylthon, which also serves as the island's "capital". It features a pretty nevyd and a cobbled high street. Just outside the town is Aearodrom Cavylthon, the headquarters of Aer Lângaeth and the Isles' only aerodrome.

Other Names

In the Rydonec dialect, the island is often called Awran, a name which their neighbours in the north Cotentin have borrowed as Aurigny (the standard Normand is Rédogne). The name comes from the period of Viking occupation and is probably a corruption of a Norse word meaning "island near the coast".

Flag of the Armorican Isles   Divisions of the Confederated Kingdoms of the Armorican Isles   Flag of the Armorican Isles
Main Islands
Ceasaer | Saern | Rydon | Serch | Gosaera
Minor Islands
Caethw | Brychaen | Báreyn | Ynys Lárec | Casaereth | Mancaeareth | Ynysaw Ysceyr
Elaeneth | Samonios Islands