From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
The Kingdom of Kiripati
Languages I-Kiripati, Japanese
Ethnicity I-Kiripati
Major Religions
Capital South Tarawa (Teinainano Urban Council)
Government type Kingdom
King Ieremia
Prime Minister
Establishment 1985 (in current form)
Supranational Organizations Part of Micronesian Confederation

The Kingdom of Kiripati is a constituent state of the Micronesian Confederation. Along with the rest of that Confederation, it was formerly a Japanese protectorate until 1954, when it was released. The Kingdom was ruled over by a king, who initially was the same as the Emperor of Japan, and a Prime Minister. In 1985, a constitutional change removed the title of King of Kiripati from the Emperor and merged the title with that of President (te taitorio). The territory includes what is *here* the Gilbert Islands and the Phoenix Islands as well as Howland Island and Baker Island, plus Tokelau, but excludes the Line Islands (which are Nittatò) and Banaba (which is an independant nation)

King Ieremia (formerly President Tapai Ieremia) is a tremendously popular leader, wary of dependance on foreign aid, preferring instead self-reliance. Foreign assistance is important to Kiripati, but the King has preferred to invest such aid in development. Tourism is another important source of income. Australasia is an important trade partner for Kiripati. As Kiripati did not include Banaba *there*, there was rather less income than *here*.

His Royal Majesty is currently attempting to create a native fishing fleet for export purposes.

Kings of Kiripati

Japan Dynasty

King Mutsuhito (1875-1906)
King Yoshihito (1906-1922)
King Yasuhito (1922-1924)
King Hirohito (1924-1952)
King Akihito (1952-1985)

Tapai Dynasty

King Ieremia (1985-)