Micronesian Confederation

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Xòtò Rempò
Micronesian Confederation
National Japanese
Regional Marshallese, I-Kiripati, Yapese, Chuukese, Pònpeian, Kosraean
Government type Loose Confederation
High King Xigehito
Viceroy ?
Prime Minister
Establishment 1928
Supranational Organizations Austronesian League, East Asian Federation
Major Subdivisions 5 states - the Kingdom of Kiripati (Gilbert Islands), the Triple Supreme Chiefdom of Wa'ab, the Kingdom of Chuuk, the Kingdom of Pònpei, the Tokoxadom of Koxae; there are also 2 tributaries - the Rajadom of the Marianas, and the Rajadom of Palau

The Micronesian Confederation consists of a large number of small islands in the western Pacific, former Japanese protectorates.


The Confederation was formally established in Xòwa 3 (1928) from four Japanese protectorates. The first protectorate in the area that became Micronesia was the Marshall Islands, which sought a protectorate in Meidji 3 (1870). They were Japan's second protectorate after Maui, in Kanawiki, which had become a protectorate in the previous year. Soon afterwards, the chiefs of the various islands requested that Japan expel the Western missionaries. This was done, but, after international protests, Japan was forced to pay reparations to the missionaries; however, despite several attempts, large-scale missionary work remained absent from the islands. In Meidji 5 (1872), Japan extended its protectorate to the Caroline Islands, to protect the natives from Western domination. (this may not be correct) The Gilbert Islands became a protectorate being established in Meidji 8 (1875). The Confederation was formally released from control of the Japanese coccai in Saisei 3 (1954), the Emperor remaining as High King. It originally consisted of the Kalolina Confederation, the United Kingdom of the Ralik and Ratak Islands, the Confederation (now Kingomd) of Kiribati, and the Kingdom of Toga, which had been a Japanese protectorate since Meidji 33 (1900), plus the two tributary states of Palao and Marianas. Toga seceded in Saisei 5 (1956), for reasons of culture and geography. Recentely, the Kalolina Confederation broke up into its constituent states - Wa'ab, Chuuk, Pònpei, and Koxae. Shortly afterwards, the United Kingdom of the Ralik and Ratak Islands split off.


The Confederation is a loose-knit organization. All of its members are in monetary union with the Empire of Japan and agree to the terms of the Treaty of Confederation. The High King of the Confederation is the Emperor of Japan. The Confederation tends towards local autonomy, with many islands ruled by hereditary chiefs, and is divided into 6 high level constituents -- Wa'ab, Chuuk, Pònpei, Koxae (these four were formally grouped together as the Kalolina Confederation), the United Kingdom of the Ralik and Ratak Islands (Marshall Islands), and the Kingdom of Kiripati (the Gilbert Islands). The term Grand Confederation is common for all of Micronesia to distinguish from the the former Kalolina Confederation. However, the term is expected to drop from use now that the Kalolina Confederation has been dissolved. Micronesia may coin its own money, however, most of the money in circulation originates from the Empire, specifically Hiroxima. Each of the six states sends representatives to the Grand Council, which is subdivided into two houses, the House of States, which consists of a single representantive from each member, and the House of People, which consists of 50 representatives elected from electoral districs of roughly equal population, with redistricting every 5 years. There is a small Confederation military, but Japan is still pledged to military defense for Micronesia.

Originally, the High King of the Confederation, i.e., the Emperor of Japan, possessed actual executive power over it. This was devolved, in 1974, to a Viceroy appointed by the Emperor, however, the Prime Minister of the Grand Council (a rotating position among the constituent states) excercises practical executive authority in Confederation matters, the Viceroy only acting in matters relating to foreign affairs. The Viceroy remains, to this day, appointed by the Emperor.


Japanese is the official language of the Grand Confederation for federal matters, local languages used for state and local matters. Most of the states retain local languages (written in catacana) in everyday use.

Rulers of Micronesia

Viceroys of Micronesia

  1. Ximizu Hideyoxi (February 1, 1974 - February 1, 1983)
  2. Tanaca Caoru (February 2, 1983 - January 30, 1989)
  3. Iu Chin-Ioñ (January 31, 1989 - January 31, 2005)
  4. ????? (January 31, 2005 - )

High Kings of Micronesia

  1. High King Akihito (February 4, 1954 - June 5, 2004)
  2. High Queen Aiko (June 6, 2004 - August 28, 2006)
  3. High King Shigehito (August 28, 2006 - )

Current Monarchs of Constituent States

In order of seniority

  • King Isauki of Pònpei - since 1979
  • King Ieremia of Kiripati - since 1985
  • King Toxiyuqui of Chuuk - since 1989
  • King Imata of the Ralik and Ratak Islands - since December 20, 1996

Other monarchs

  • Tokoxa ?? of Koxae
  • The Three Supreme Chiefs of Wa'ab

TAR flag   Members of the East Asian Federation   TAR flag
Banaba | Japan | Micronesian Confederation | Ralik and Ratak Islands | Henua (observer)