James Monroe

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
James Monroe
Order: 2nd General Moderator
Term of Office: 25 March, 1813 - 25 March, 1823
Predecessor: Richard Bonnaire Whittington
Successor: Martin van Lustbader
Date of birth: April 28, 1758
Date of death: July 4, 1831
Place of birth: Westmoreland, Virginia
Profession: Attorney
Political Party: Confederationalist
Relgious Affiliation: Deist
James Monroe

James Henry Monroe was the second man to hold office as General Moderator of what was even then coming to be called the "North American League." He was among the youngest delegates to the meeting which created the Solemn League and Covenant and is given credit by many for the legal justifications given that rendered the colonies independent from the mother parliaments. Having a vast memory for details, he played a key part in drawing up the document which became the Covenant.

His election to the post of GM was a surprise to no one, as it was obvious Richard Whittington had chosen him as a successor. During Whittington's Moderator-ship, Monroe held (at different times) the offices of Attorney-General, Minister of the Exchequer and Foreign Secretary. Parliament began to split over whether to accept Monroe, with those favoring him eventually forming a group they called "Confederationalist," in effect the NAL's first political party.

While in office, Monroe oversaw the entry of Kentucky, Mobile and Tenisi into the League. Octagon House was also constructed. During his administration, the fledgling Solemn League Navy won its first victories against various pirates in the Carribean and Mediterranean Seas. "Wafts Still the Old Blue Sheet", written by Ter Mair native Ffrensisc S. Keyes, a prisoner rescued from Caribbean pirates, who witnessed the Seige of Kingestown, Jamaica, became the new national song.

Later in life, Monroe accumulated considerable debts that forced him to sell virtually all of his property. He died while living with his daughter's family.


Preceded by:
Richard Bonnaire Whittington
General Moderatorship
of the NAL-SLC
Succeeded by:
Martin van Lustbader