Government of Tejas

From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

The Government of Tejas has undergone considerable changes since its establishment in the XIXth century, but the form has remained more-or-less intact, at least on the federal level.


Congress (Congreso)

Following the Revolution, King Karl worked with native leaders of the war for independence to establish a legislature dubbed Congress, composed of two houses:

  • The House of Representatives (C├ímara de Representantes) was an elected body, with individuals from all four provinces. Over time the exact number of this body has varied considerably, as has its specific authority. But in general this House has been presided over by an official called a Speaker, although the specific authority and method of choosing this official has also differed with time and regime. Non-monarchist regimes have tended to bestow considerable authority, either real or symbolic, to this House.
  • The House of Peers (Casa de Pares) consisted of the newly-minted Tejano Aristocracy, including (at first) the Hidalgos and the Freiherrs. Presided over by an official dubbed the Lord Speaker, usually chosen by the Peers themselves. Even more than the lower house, this body has undergone great variation. At times it was literally powerless over anything save matters of etiquette and heraldry, while initially it acted as the only court of appeal for the nobles and also members of Tejano Orders of Chivalry as well as a full legislative body.


Of all parts of the Tejano government, this has seen the greatest changes. In general a Prime Minister (Primer ministro) is drawn from Congress to head a Cabinet (Consejo de Ministros) which may or may not consist solely of Congressmen. However, the actual head of state (and sometimes head of government) has been either a President (El presidente) or the reigning Monarch. The precise nature of each office's authority has depended upon circumstances, including the nature of relations with the country's neighbors such as Louisianne, Alta California and Mejico.

Supreme Court (Corte Suprema)

This body has always consisted of seven Supreme Magistrates (Magistrados Supremos), chosen (in theory) by the Head of State and confirmed by one or both houses of Congress. In fact, while the form of the Supreme Court has remained intact, so much cannot be said of the individuals making up that body. More than a few have been assassinated, forced into exile and/or retirement, and in one or two cases vanished without a trace.


Each of the four provinces of Tejas have a local Provincial Congress (Congreso Provincial), but the chief executive of the province is a Governor (Gobernador) nominated (or sometimes appointed) from Santa Fe.

Personal tools