Iberian Peninsula

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Map of Iberia and North Africa

Countries and Territories

  1. Kingdom of Aragon
  2. Kingdom of Castile and Leon
  3. Kingdom of Portugal
  4. Principality of Andorra
  5. Gibraltar, England, Federated Kingdoms.
  6. Navarre, France

There are three kingdoms on the Iberian Peninsula: Portugal, Castile and Leon, and Aragon. These kingdoms are not the only political entities on the peninsula, however. In addition there are the Province of Navarre (France); the Principality of Andorra; and Gibraltar, an English colony, even though neither Castile nor Aragon recognize it as such; they claim that Gibraltar is an invaded Castilian or Aragonese territory respectively.

Portugal has several colonies and integral territories outside the Peninsula. Madeira and the Azores are autonomous regions, while Came Rao is a colony. The capital of Portugal is Lisbon.

Castile and Leon include what is western Spain *here*: Galicia, Asturias, Old Castile, New Castile, Leon, Estremadura, and western Andalucia, plus the enclave of Ceuta in the Maghreb. It also includes the overseas integral territories of Castilian West Africa, New Granada, and the Central American Community. Castile and Leon also possesses the colonies of Guam and Castilian Guiana and it holds the city of Manila in condominium with Bornei-Filipinas.

Aragon includes what is eastern Spain *here*: Catalonia, Aragon, Valencia, Murcia and eastern Andalucia. It also includes the Balearic Islands and the two enclaves Melilla and Oran in the Maghreb. The Kingdom of Aragon is in personal union with the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies which includes southern Italy, Sicily, Sardinia and Tunisia. The monarch of Aragon and the Two Sicilies, is also the monarch of the Riu de L'Argent and the autonomous Eastern State of Uruguay. The capital of Aragon is Barcelona. Other important cities include Pamplona, Zaragoza (former capital), Valencia and Murcia.

Castile and Aragon also hold the Canary Islands and Fernando Po in condominium.