From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Provincia Autonoma de l'Uruguai
Autonomous Province of Uruguai
Flag of Uruguay
 Official: Aragonese, Portuguese
Capital: Monte Sant Ovidio
Population: 9 million uruguaios (Uruguaians)
Established: 1822, independence from Portugal
Currency: Reyal argentino (₳)
Organizations: Aragonese League, Lusoamerican Union

Uruguai is an autonomous province of Riu d'Archent in southeastern South America. Its known for being a tourism hub. Its many casinos in the town of Punta de l'Este draw particularly high numbers of tourists from around the world each year.


Uruguai was an Aragonese colony. It was invaded by Portugal in 1819, an action that was supported by Paraná. In 1827 it went back to Riu de l'Argent as an autonomous province and since then enjoyed a great deal of autonomy, a status which was guaranteed by Paraná and other former Portuguese colonies in South America. Uruguai in 1900 was one of the founders of the Lusoamerican Union, unique among its fellow founder states as the rest are all sovereign countries. Under the government of dictator Asperanza Rius in Riu d'Archent, however, the autonomy of Uruguai has been steadily decreased. Various laws of Uruguai were revoked by the supreme court of Riu de l'Argent, unlike previously Riu de l'Argent did not consult the local parliament when appointing the new governor-general. Other nations of the Lusoamerican Union generally criticise such actions of Riu de l'Argent, which has put strain on the relations between Riu d'Archent and all of Portuguese-speaking South America. The "One Nation" ideal of Riu d'Archent generally assumes that Uruguaians, as a part of the Argentian nation, no longer require autonomy from Buen Ayre.


Lusoamerican Union

Map of Uruguai with neighbouring countries


North: Paraguai.
West: also Paraguai.
Southeast: Atlantic Ocean.
Northeast: Paraná.