Islamic Kingdom of Guinea

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
إمارة غينيا الإسلامية
Émirat Islamique de Guinée
Lamido Julbe Gine
Islamic Emirate of Guinea

State Flag

Air Force roundel
Capital: Conakry
Independence: from France
 Declared: 2 October 1958
 Recognized: 2 October 1958
Established: 1984, Self-coronation of Lansana Conté
 Official: Arabic, Fufulde
 Others: Malinké, Susu, Kissi, Kpelle/Guerzé, Toma, French (widely spoken by 15%-12% of the country)
ISO code: GU

Located in West Africa on the Guinea coast, Guinea is a former colony of France. It gained independence [as the Republic of Guinea] on 2 October 1958. The Republic of Guinea was abolished after the dictator Ahmed Sékou Touré died of a heart attack. A [1984] military junta took control as an interim measure, and subsequently, the general of the army, Lansana Conté crowned himself king and declared the Islamic Kingdom.


Possible revision to conform with article at French Guinea:
In 1958, Guinea was the first state to break away from France's colonial empire under the leadership of the pro-independence leader Ahmed Sékou Touré. Touré led the new Republic of Guinea along a staunch anti-France path, particularly once it was clear that France would hold onto the region around Boffa and Boké, source of most of the country's bauxite wealth. In 1960, with probable support from the Maghreb Caliphate, Touré declared an Islamic Revolution, resulting in the Islamic Kingdom of Guinea with himself as monarch. Touré led the country to isolation and economic turmoil. When he died of a heart attack in 1984, General Lansana Conté seized control and crowned himself king. He normalized relations with the kingdom's French neighbors, but without access to bauxite deposits Guinea remains a poor country.


Lansana died in 2008 and was succeeded by his son and designated successor, Ousmane.

Former state flag, 1958 to whenever the Islamic "revolution" happened
The pre-1958 French Guinea is divided into the R.I.G. and the current, smaller French département.