The Angelici

From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Selflessness, Piety, Courage, Strength, Knowledge & Wisdom, and Respect. These are the Seven Tenets of the Knights of Byzantium (also called the Order of Constantine, the Golden Knights, and Saint George). They have a religious core, with a military order wrapped around them, and charity work at heart.

The Angelici were an ancient order of knighthood for priests and laymen, founded in 1191 by Byzantine Emperor Isaac Angelus.

They are divided into three classes, but are follow the direction of one Grand Master, loyal to the people of Orthodoxy. The first are called Torquati, from a collar which they wore, and there can be fifty at a time. They help the Grand Master run the organization. The second are called the Knights of Justice, and this is the religious arm of the Faction. The third and final arm is called the "Knights Servitors", they are the militant order.


Some Members are in conflict with each other. One group says the order was founded in the year 313, by Constantine the Great, the actual founding was the appearance of an angel to that emperor, with the sign of a cross and the words, "In hoc signo vinces" ("In this sign you shall conquer").

Notable Members

  • His Eminence, the Most Reverend Seraphim (Iakovou) of Johannesburg and Pretoria-Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Johannesburg and Pretoria.
Personal tools