SR Constitution

From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search


While each SR state has its own "Statsminister" (Statesminister, who is the local Head of Government), they all share the same Head of State - the Queen. On another level, each state also recognize the Chancellor of the SR as the Head of the multinational SR government, to which each state is freely associated with.

The SR government is only responsible for the "Fællesanlæggene" (the Common Affairs). This includes Commonwealth's finance, defense, foreign affairs, church affairs, integration and civil liberties.

The legislative side is controlled by the "Riksråd" (the "Council of the Realm"). Formally, it meets every other year, but actually has "extraordinary" meetings quite often. Normally, this is done in Gjøteborg, but it can meet anywhere if the need arises. It can only pass laws when at least one-third of the members are present.

The Riksråd is composed of a number of members from each associated state chosen by the Queen, a number of members from each associated state chosen by their respective parliaments, and a number of members from each associated state elected directly by the people of their respective states. The affiliated states of New Sweden and New Iceland have observers in the Riksråd with no voting rights. From among the members of the Riksråd, a President and two Vice-Presidents are elected, who directs the meetings according to established etiquette.

On the Executive side, there is the "Gehejmekonseil" (the "Privy Council"). This is composed of the Queen, the Chancellor, his ministers, and any Statsminister from associated states who happens to be present. If the Queen is not present, then it is called the "Kancelli" (the "Chancellery"). The Chancellor is elected by the majority in the Rigsråd. The Chancellor chooses his ministers. Each minister heads a College controlling the Common Affairs of the Commonwealth. There's a College of the Exchequer (in charge of finance), a College of the Admiralty (in charge of naval defense), a College of State (in charge of foreign affairs), a College of the Church (for church affairs), a College of Integration (for ethnic integration), and a College of Rights (for civil liberties).

Unlike a President, who is elected by only a fraction of the population and hence only represents part of the population, the Queen represents all by virtue of her being the sovereign of the Scandinavia Realm. The Queen's purpose as Head of State is therefore to unite and represent all the citizens of the commonwealth. She can therefore not be political or take sides in politics. The Queen has absolutely no political powers. The Gehejmekonseil is in other words a sort of "tea party" where the Queen gets to meet the Chancellor and the different ministers, and where she can initiate any one of them as a member of the Order of the Dannebrog or the Order of the Olifont. The real executive government is the Kancelli.

Each associated state has its own parliamentary system of government with its own system of ministries/colleges.

Personal tools