Monarchs of Castile and Leon

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

From 719 to 1230

From 1230 to 1454

In 1230, King Ferdinand III of Castile was crowned as king of Leon. Rather than a simple personal Union, Ferdinand ruled both kingdoms as one entity.

From 1454 to 1809

The history of the Iberian peninsula is almost unchanged up to 1468, when king Enrique IV of Castile and Leon's brother Alfonso died *here*. (but not *there*.)

Enrique IV died on schedule in 1474 and in a quick civil war Alfonso XII managed to get rid of Enrique's wife's daughter Juana and was proclaimed king.

Alfonso XII's sister, Isabella, had married Ferdinand II, king of Aragon, and there was no unification of Spain.

Both Alfonso of Castile and Ferdinand of Aragon, continued their crusade against the Moors, and in 1492 the Kingdom of Granada was decisively defeated, and both kings expeled the Jews from their kingdoms.

Alfonso XII, worried trying to compete with Portugal, who had circumnavigated Africa, and the Aragonese dominium of the Mediterranean, accepted the proposal of this Genovese sailor Christopher Columbus, and sponsors an expedition to the Indies by navigating westwards.

Isabella and Ferdinand of Aragon, had a daughter called Juana who married Habsburg prince Phillip. Their son, Charles later became Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire as Charles V and King of Aragon as Carlos I, who's followed by Philip II (who also inherited the Netherlands), Philip III, Philip IV and Carlos II.

In Castile, Alfonso's son Sancho V is followed by his son Juan III, who also became King of Portugal as João IV, but this was barely a personal union. Juan's successors, Alfonso XIII and Enrique VII, also ruled over Portugal (as Alfonso VI & Henrique II) until João Braganza drived the Castilians usurpers and became João V of Portugal.

Enrique's son Sancho VI, was a contender to the Aragonese trone after the death of Carlos II. He managed to hold the Aragonese crown from 1700 to 1704, but he finally lost the Aragonese Sucession War to the Boubons, and Philip V Bourbon become the new king of Aragon and Navarre.

After João V, the Braganza dinasty in Portugal followed: Alfonso VII, Pedro II, Joao VI, Joseph Emanuel and Maria I.

In Aragon, Ferdinand VI, Charles III and Charles IV followed Philip V. Charles IV's son Ferdinand conspired with Napoleon and ascended the throne as Ferdinand VII after his father abdication in 1808. Aragon and the Two Sicilies (under Ferdinand), became allied to France and their armies and Navies part of the French Imperial Army and Navy.

In Castile, Sancho VI was suceded by his nephew Sancho VII, then was Juan IV and Juan V and Alfonso XIV.

In 1809, Napoleon attempted to take both Castile and Portugal. He managed to make Maria resign for his son Pedro and Pedro resign for Napoleon's brother Joseph, and both of them were made prisoners. Alfonso of Castile managed to scape to New Andalusia denouncing Joseph Bonaparte as an ursurper.

From 1808 to 1924

From 1924 to the present

List of Monarchs

Monarchs of Castile and Leon
Name Reign Born Place of Birth Died Place of Death Notes
Fernando III 1217-1252 1198 1252 King of Leon from 1230
Alfonso X 1252-1284 1221 1284 Rival King of Germany, 1257-1273
Sancho IV 1284-1295 1257 1295
Fernando IV 1295-1312 1285 1312
Alfonso XI 1312-1350 1311 1350
Pedro I 1350-1369 1334 1369
Enrique II 1366-1379 1334 Sevilla 1379 Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Juan I 1379-1390 1358 1390
Enrique III 1390-1406 1379 Burgos 1406 Toledo
Juan II 1406-1454 1405 1454 Vallodolid
Enrique IV 1454-1474 1474
Alfonso XII 1474-?
Sancho V
Juan III Also João IV of Portugal
Alfonso XIII Also Alfonso VI of Portugal
Enrique V Also Henrique III of Portugal
Sancho VI Also King of Aragon from 1700-1704
Sancho VII
Juan IV
Juan V ??-1788 Valladolid 1788 Valladolid Abdicated
Alfonso XIV 1788-1809
1759 Valladolid 1829 Madrid Abdicated in 1809, returned to the throne in 1813
José I 1809-1813 1768 Corte, Corsica 1844 Oxbridge, NAL Often considered a usurper
Elder brother of Napoleon
Previously King of Portugal
Isabel I 1829-1832 1793 Toledo 1874 Rome Abdicated
Carlos I 1832-1865 1787 Toledo 1865 Valladolid
Carlos II 1865-1898 1824 Cádiz la Nôva 1898 Havanna, Cuba
Leopoldo I 1898-1910 1834 Könisberg, Germany 1910 Valladolid
Juan VI 1910-1922
1925-1939 (America only)
1872 Könisberg, Germany 1939 Cádiz la Nôva
María Luisa I 1939-1975 (America only) 1899 Valladolid, Castilian Spain 1996 Santa María, New Granada Abdicated in grandson's favor, reuniting the two kingdoms
Eduardo I 1967-1975 (Castilian Spain only) 1922 Frankfurt, Germany 1975 Santa Fe, New Granada
Alfonso José I 1975- 1943 Cadiz la Nôva, New Granada