Japanese military

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

The military of the Empire of Japan is one of the top militaries in the world. The origins of the present military date back to the Meidji Restoration, when the old samurai were swept aside and a new modern Army and Navy were established.

The modern military contains, in theory, separate units for the four constituent states of the Japanese Empire, although in practice, they are administered collectively.


  • Yamato Royal Army
  • Corean Royal Army
  • Liuquiuan Royal Army
  • Ezoan Army


  • Yamato Royal Navy
  • Corean Royal Navy
  • Liuquiuan Royal Navy
  • Ezoan Navy

Air Forces

Each nation keeps its air force, but the naval air arms remained part of their navy.


The same terms are used for officer ranks in all branches of the military.

  • 元帥 Guensuì/Uensu - Field Marshall, Fleet Admiral
  • 大将 Taixò/Taijañ - General, Admiral
  • 中将 Txùjò/Juñjañ - Lt. General, Vice-Admiral
  • 少将 Xòxò/Sojañ - Major General, Rear Admiral
  • 大佐 Taisa/Taijua - Colonel, Captain*
  • 中佐 Txùsa/Juñjua - Lt. Colonel, Commander
  • 少佐 Xòsa/Sojua - Major, Lt. Commander
  • 大尉 Taii/Taiui - Captain, Lieutenant
  • 中尉 Txùi/Juñui - First Lieutenant, Lieutenant (JG)
  • 少尉 Xòi/Soui - Second Lieutenant, Ensign

*Often read in Japanese as Daisa for the naval rank

The insignia for these ranks are identical, but there are notable differences. Ezo uses the old Imperial Japanese Army insignia of stars, albeit seven-pointed instead of the original five-pointed star. Yamato uses the cherry blossom flower (due to the five-pointed star being used by Xinwa forces during the Japanese Civil War), Liuquiu solid gold circles, and Corea a nine-petal bamboo flower.

See also

  • IJN Ships - naming conventions of Imperial Japanese Navy vessels