Castilian Currency

From IBWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

The currency in the Kingdom of Castile & Leon is paired to the common European currency. Each nation of Castile & Leon, however, has its own mint.

Denomination £ -/- d type
1 denario 1d coin
3 denarios 3d coin
media peseta 6d coin
1 peseta 1/- 12d coin
1 peso duro 1$ 5/- 60d coin
1 escudo £1 20/- 240d coin (rare) or banknote
3 escudos £3 60/- banknote
10 escudos £10 200/- banknote
20 escudos £20 400/- banknote

The peso duro coin, usually called "peso" in the Americas and "duro" in Europe, is the the highest denomination of coin in daily circulation. On the obverse is the effigy of His Majesty, King Alfonso José, and on the reverse are the arms of the Kingdom. The inscription reads "REYNO Ð CASTILLA I LEON -- UN PESO DURO --".

There are also coins of un denario (1d), tres denarios (3d), media peseta (6d) and una peseta (1/-). There are also 1 escudo coins but are only rarely found in circulation. The 1 escudo banknotes are ubiquitous, however. Since 1998, Castile and Leon has issued banknotes which are made from a plastic polymer compound, which is far more durable than paper.

The smaller coins (denarios and pesetas) feature a variable design on the obverse and have the valuation on the reverse. The obverse design varies by mint (Casa de la Moneda, or coining house) and denomination. The valuations are in both figures and words: "1 - un denario", "3- tres denarios", "6 - media peseta", "12 - una peseta".

The 1 escudo bill, has an elaborate representation of the royal arms in color and features the legend "Kingdom of Castile and Leon", or "Reyno de Castilla i León", the name of the coining house, and the promise ("will pay to the bearer on demand...", or "pagará al portador UN Escudo Real de Oro". The reverse features a striking map of the territories of the kingdom highlighted.

There are also 3, 10 and 20 escudos banknotes in circulation.

The coining houses of Castile and Leon are "La Real Casa de la Moneda de Castilla i León" in Valladolid, "La Casa de la Moneda del Nôvo Reyno de Granada" in Santa Fe, "La Real Casa de La Moneda de América Central" in Guatemala, "La Casa de La Moneda del África Castellana" in Las Palmas.