Monarchs of Italy

From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

List of monarchs of Italy since 1933:

  • King Vittorio Emanuele I (King Victor Emmanuel III of Piedmont) reigned 1933-1946. King Vittorio Emanuele I was the charismatic first king of Italy, elected almost unanimously after the constitution was ratified in 1933. His rule, marked by the Second Great War, was generally a good one for Italy.
  • King Francesco I (Prince Francesco II of Correggio) reigned 1946-1955. King Francesco I saw the country through the end of the Second Great War. In 1953 he became severely ill, and never truly recovered. His reign was viewed negatively by the public, especially in the northwest and on the islands.
  • King Elia I (Duke Elia II of Parma) reigned 1955-1969. King Elia I's reign was seen as a great improvement upon his predecessor's. He has been regarded by biographers as, more than anything, the "People's Monarch". He instituted a currency reform which was opposed at the time by the many of the provincial rulers, but which brought Italian currency more into sync with the currencies of the nearby Papal States and Kingdom of Two Sicilies, a decision later praised, especially during the European Federation's early stages.
  • Queen Luisa I (Princess Luisa I of Piombino) reigned 1969-1971. Queen Luisa I's reign was cut abruptly short by her unexpected death due to a heart attack that she suffered while observing the Piombino Regatta from her home in Populonia.
  • King Saverio I (Duke Saverio I of Parma) reigned 1971-1975. King Saverio I's reign was an uneventful but productive one. Reportedly, he became quite agitated on a trip to France when a moneychanger had difficulties with the exchange rate between Italian lire and French francs, and ended up delaying his chauffeur. Thereafter he always kept some small change in the currencies of his neighbors, to be on the safe side. Shortly before his death, he wrote an essay for the Florence Observer, in which he spoke out strongly in favor of currency reforms throughout Europe.
  • King Massimiliano I (Archduke Massimiliano IV of Trento) reigned 1975-1988. King Massimiliano I took to heart the suggestions of his predecessor, and at the beginning of the 1980s helped to organize the European Federation's 1981 conference in Brussels. The conference was a success, and he continued to push for increasing reforms as time went on. Unfortunately, he died before the plans were fully implemented, but his successors would continue his work.
  • King Francesco II (Duke Francesco V of Mantua) reigned 1988-1991. King Francesco II was an unassuming man, and would never have sought such a high office as the kingship. However, the primary candidate for kingship was the unpopular Grand Duke of Friuli, and in response a coalition was formed to block this by supporting another, and Duke Francesco V of Mantua was selected to fill that role. He was the only king in Italian history to abdicate the throne, which he did in 1991 shortly after the fall of SNOR.
  • Queen Luisa II (Princess Luisa of Ceva) began her reign in 1991 and still rules to this day. She has seen her country through the slightly troubled period immediately after the fall of SNOR, and in 1994 made Italy the first country to initiate the European Federation currency. Recently, given developments with regards to the Euro-consortium's space program, she has shown increased interest in having Italy join the international community in the push towards space.
Personal tools