From IBWiki

(Redirected from Eire)
Jump to: navigation, search
An tAonsdát Éireann (Gaeilg)
Ystad Ynid d'Iwern (Brithenig)
Irish Union (English)
Flag of Ireland
National motto: Fé Mhóid Bheith Saor (Sworn to be free)
 Official: Gaeilg, Brithenig, Breathanach
 Others: Manoeg, Kerno, Yola
 Capital: Dubhlinn. Cill Chainnigh is the seat of government.
 Largest: Dubhlinn
 Other: Béal Feirsde, Corcaigh, Gaillimh, Luimneach, Baile an Doire
Príomhaire (Premier): Leo Varadkar
Uachtarán (President): Micheál Tómas Ó hUiginn
Area: 84,116km2
Population: 12,350,000 people
Currency: Líre

Ireland was for many centuries a colonial domain of the Kingdom of Kemr. After decades of agitation, in 1922 the Irish won their independence from Kemr and formed the Irish Freestate. Gaelic is the everyday language, though Brithenig is still taught in schools and is important still for economic purposes. After federalisation of 1956, the country came to be called the Irish Union.




The AÉ has a (nominally) unicameral legislature, consisting solely of the Dáil. It sits in Caislean Chill Chainnigh and is considered a continuation of the Oireachtas Comhaontascach (Confederate General Assembly).

In addition, Coiste Cónascach (Federal Committee) sits as the de-facto upper house. Each Uasal from each of the tuatha has a seat on it. The Uachtarán chairs the council, but normally doesn't directly participate in the debates, though if needed can cast a deciding vote. This council does not run the country, but acts as an advisory body to the sitting government. This body is also charged with protecting the constitution and can reject bills and statutory instruments on those grounds with approval of the Uachtarán.

Political Parties


The country is divided into the traditional Cúigí (lit. fifths, sg. Cúige) or provinces. These are further divided into federal territories or Tuatha (sg. Tuath).

Tuath/Territory Priomhbaile/Capital English Name
Tír Chonnaill Lítir Ceannain Tyrconnell
Tír Bréifne Sligeach Breffny
Airgialla Baile an Doire Oriel
Uladh an Oirthir Béal Feirsde East Ulster
Iarchonnachda Gaillimh West Connaught
Tír Boruma Luimneach Thomond
An Iarmhí Ath Luain West Meath
Laighean Dubhlinn Leinster
Osraighe Cill Chainnigh Ossory
An Déise Port Láirge Decies/Ormond
Eóganachd Trá Li Desmond

Each territory is further divided into Ceantar (often translated as cantons, districts, or baronies), each of which consists of a number of Paraisde (parishes), when are further divided into bailte fearainn (townlands).

In addition, there is one autonomous district around and including the city of Corcaigh, called Ceantar an Phobail Féinrialach Eíceatópaic Corcaí, having the same rights as a territory, but lacking the ability to have its leader sit on the Federal Council of State. Montserrat, which recently successfully petitioned to join the AÉ after a referendum is currently an autonomous district, but will become a territory as soon as its constitutional status is fully resolved.






The exchange rate between the FK Pound and the AÉ Líre is £1/- (FK) = £1/1 (AÉ), with a metal content of 1750 grain pure silver, though the currency was initially valued £1/1 (FK) = £1/- (AÉ) to inspire confidence in the value of the new currency, though later devalued to its current rate by the currency commission once it was established. The currency is used as legal tender in Ireland itself (including the newly incorporated territory of Montserrat), Western Peninsular Florida (for the duration of the occupation), and alongside the Commonweath Pound in Tír Ghearoinn.

The primary denominations are:

1 Líre = 20 Soilte
1 Soilt = 2 Ríúile
1 Ríúl = 6 Deneair

The Denear is colloquially referred to as the Ceanog (pl. Ceanoga). The plural form of Líre is Líreanna.

The common note denominations are 10/-, £1, £5, £10, £20, £50, £100, £200, and £500. There are larger notes used for banking transfers as in the FK.

The bronze coins are: -/0.5 (leatdhenear/ceanoigín), -/1 (denear/ceanog), -/2.

The silver coins are: -/3 (leatríúl), -/6 (ríúl), 1/- (soilt), 2/6 (Laighean only), 5/-.

All gold coins are commemorative.

Currency is controlled by Federal Currency Commission. This body controls which banks are allowed to issue notes, though in reality the only banks that do are The People's Trust in Corcaigh, the Provincial Bank of Ireland and the Bank of Laighean. The obverse of the coins is allowed to vary according to the minting authority, but this doesn't happen in practice.



Gaelic (Gaeilg) is understood by all the population, but is not the only language spoken.

In Osraighe and An Déise, there are populations that speak an highly archaic dialect of English known as Yola. Under threat up until the 1970s, a movement to preserve the language began to gather momentum in the 1960s. Osraighe also has a small but strong Kerno-speaking community.

In Laighean, which has a large number of people of Kemrese descent, Brithenig is widely spoken. Indeed, the Kemrese population there is so great that it was one of the factors that lead to the rise of federalism during the latter part of the Civil War. The territory also has numbers of Kerno and Manoeg speakers.

Uladh an Oirthir has a substantial Breathanach-speaking population.

Under the articles of Bunreachd na hÉireann, the languages with recognition as official languages are Gaeilg, Breathanach and Brithenig. Yola and Manoeg are recognised as protected languages.


Ireland is primarily Cambrian Rite Catholicism (locally called Celtic Rite Catholicism), with other rites also practiced. The largest Protestant denomination is the Presbyterian Church, followed by the Evangelic Church. There is also a substantial and vibrant Jewish population in urban areas, particularly in Corcaigh, Luimneach, Dubhlinn, and Béal Feirsde. Cravethism is gaining in popularity amongst the young, but is frowned on in general.

Other minority religions include Zoroastrianism, Islam and Buddhism.


National Symbols

The national colour is green, and this is used by various sporting federations as their strip colour. In part, this symbolises the Irish landscape, and in part the national plant, the White Clover.

The White Clover (Gaeilg: Seamróg) is the national plant and an unofficial emblem of Ireland. Nowadays the Yellow or Lesser Clover is commonly used in its place. According to legend it was used to explain the doctrine of the Trinity by Saint Patrick; it's likely however that its symbolism dates back even further as triads were a common motif in pre-Christian religion and art on the island. It is worn on Saint Patrick's Day, and can be found incorporated into the symbols of various national and state bodies.

The Coat of Arms of Ireland

The official state emblem is the Harp of Brian Boru. Brian Boru is seen historically as the last true High King of Ireland. The Harp, which currently resides in Ardscoil na Tríonóide, actually dates back to the 1400s, 400 years after the death of Brian Boru and was simply named in his honour.

The harp is currently used as part of the Coat of Arms of Ireland and is used on all state documents, seals, and legal tender. It forms the primary element of the Presidential Standard and the the Great Seal of the Union.


[Need to expand these.]



Also See

Personal tools