From IBWiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Sowjetrepublik Bayern
Soviet Republic of Bavaria
Conventional short name:
Local: Bayern
English: Bavaria
Flag of Bavaria
Die Rote Fahne. The state flag is always flown together with the red banner of the international communist movement.
Area: 275,280 cc (32,208 sqmi)
 Capital: München (Munich)
 Largest: München
 Other: Nürnberg, Augsburg, Würzburg, Regensburg, Ingolstadt
Currency: 1 Convention Thaler = 20 Kreuzer = 240 Pfennige
 Official: Bavarian (Bayrisch)
 Others: German, Bohemian
Population: 10,950,000 (2003)
Organizations: Holy Roman Empire

Bavaria (Bayern) is believed to have existed as a tribal duchy since the 6th century, though by the 8th century it had been subjected by Charles the Great and added to the Holy Roman Empire, though varying levels of independence were granted, gained, and lost over the centuries.

The four centuries following Charlemagne’s conquest were tumultuous years as dukes of whichever house sought to free the Bavarian Duchy and establish its sovereignty.

At this time, Bavaria was much larger, extending into the Bohemia and into Austria, but through wars over the course of the next millennia would be whittled down to its modern size.

Up until the revolution, Bayern was a largely catholic state, but is now officially atheistic. Bavaria has very poor exports at this time, though in the past they were a large exporter of lager beer, wine and other agricultural products.

Bavaria didn't last overly long as a really communist state, albeit a little longer than *here*. The Powers That Were At The Time realised that they'd have to change certain things if they want to stay in power, so they basically modified the system to such a degree that it cannot be called communist anymore. Perhaps socialistic (welfare state, like), but not communist, and nowadays it is really only the name and the flag that really tie it to communism in any real way. The name Bavarian Soviet Republic stuck. Bavaria still holds the Kaiser as their leader, calling him ‘Comrade Weiblingen, Captain-General of the Red Army of Bavaria.

Flag of the HRE   Participants of the Holy Roman Empire   Flag of the HRE
Member Entities
Anhalt | Baden | Bavaria | Bremen | Brunswick | Hamborg | Hannover | Hesse | Lippe | Luebeck | Luxemburg | Mecklenburg | Oldenburg | Premaria | Prussia | Rhineland-Palatinate | Saarland | Saxony | Schleswig-Holstein | Thuringia | Waldeck-Pyrmont | Westphalia | Wuerttemberg
Colony: Rickerman-Insel
Personal tools